How to watch the 2023 American Express on Thursday: Round 1 live coverage

The 2023 American Express gets underway Thursday afternoon with the opening round at PGA West in La Quinta, Calif. Here’s what you need to know to watch Round 1 on TV or online.

Previewing American Express Round 1

Two of the biggest names in the field at this week’s American Express are locked in a battle to overtake Rory McIlroy for the No. 1 spot in the Official World Golf Ranking: Scottie Scheffler and Jon Rahm.

greg norman the cw logo
LIV Golf finally (!) on the verge of a TV partner
By: James Colgan

Scheffler, the current World No. 2, reached No. 1 after a torrid stretch last spring that included his first major win at the Masters, though he’s since fallen back. Rahm, who started 2022 as No. 1, is ranked No. 4, but he’s been playing like the best player in the world for months, highlighted by his triumph at the Sentry Tournament of Champions to kick off 2023.

With McIlroy sitting this week out, both players have a prime opportunity to make up some ground on the four-time major champ.

You can stream the first round via PGA Tour Live on ESPN+ beginning at 11:30 a.m. ET or watch the telecast on Golf Channel starting at 3 p.m. ET.

All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.


With an ESPN+ subscription, you gain access to PGA Tour Live, where you can stream the best PGA Tour events live from wherever you want.

( may receive a commission when you sign up for ESPN+ through the link above.)

Below you will find everything you need to watch the first round of the 2023 American Express.

How to watch American Express Round 1 on TV

Golf Channel will carry the opening round of the 2023 American Express on TV with a four-hour telecast from 3-7 p.m. ET on Thursday.

How to stream American Express Round 1 online

You can stream the opening round of the 2023 American Express via PGA Tour Live on ESPN+, which will have exclusive coverage beginning at 11:30 a.m. ET on Thursday, in addition to featured group coverage and a simulcast of the Golf Channel coverage. Fans can also stream the first round of Golf Channel TV coverage via Peacock.


( may receive a commission when you sign up for ESPN+ through the link above.)

2023 American Express Round 1 tee times (All times ET)

PGA West – Nicklaus, Tee No. 1

11:30 a.m. – Austin Cook, Jason Dufner

11:41 a.m. – Tyler Duncan, Richy Werenski

11:52 a.m. – Paul Haley II, Kevin Yu

12:03 p.m. – Mark Hubbard, Zac Blair

12:14 p.m. – Brendon Todd, Michael Thompson

12:25 p.m. – S.H. Kim, Eric Cole

12:36 p.m. – Aaron Rai, Satoshi Kodaira

12:47 p.m. – Ryan Brehm, Jonathan Byrd

12:58 p.m. – Brice Garnett, James Hahn

1:09 p.m. – Michael Block, Trevor Werbylo

1:20 p.m. – Nate Lashley, Martin Trainer

1:31 p.m. – Jimmy Walker, Jhonattan Vegas

1:42 p.m. – Kevin Roy, Gunner Wiebe

PGA West – Dye, Tee No. 1

11:30 a.m. – Troy Merritt, Chesson Hadley

11:41 a.m. – Zach Johnson, Russell Knox

11:52 a.m. – Harrison Endycott, John Pak

12:03 p.m. – Lee Hodges, Brandon Wu

12:14 p.m. – Aaron Wise, Sebastian Munoz

12:25 p.m. – Anders Albertson, Philip Knowles

12:36 p.m. – Michael Kim, Andrew Putnam

12:47 p.m. – Callum Tarren, Alex Smalley

12:58 p.m. – Tom Hoge, Luke List

1:09 p.m. – Matti Schmid, Vincent Norrman

1:20 p.m. – Wyndham Clark, Harry Higgs

1:31 p.m. – Sam Burns, Harris English

1:42 p.m. – Ben Taylor, Robby Shelton

La Quinta C.C., Tee No. 1

11:30 a.m. – Adam Long, Chez Reavie

11:41 a.m. – Tony Finau, Scottie Scheffler

11:52 a.m. – Taylor Montgomery, Justin Suh

12:03 p.m. – Stewart Cink, Brendan Steele

12:14 p.m. – Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele

12:25 p.m. – Davis Thompson, Will Gordon

12:36 p.m. – Davis Riley, Beau Hossler

12:47 p.m. – Tom Kim, Sahith Theegala

12:58 p.m. – Matthew NeSmith, Patrick Rodgers

1:09 p.m. – Charley Hoffman, Denny McCarthy

1:20 p.m. – Chris Kirk, Patton Kizzire

1:31 p.m. – Jon Rahm, Rickie Fowler

1:42 p.m. – Thomas Detry, Austin Eckroat

PGA West – Nicklaus, Tee No. 10

11:30 a.m. – Emiliano Grillo, Nick Watney

11:41 a.m. – Cameron Young, Will Zalatoris

11:52 a.m. – Joseph Bramlett, Dean Burmester

12:03 p.m. – Peter Malnati, Ben Martin

12:14 p.m. – Wesley Bryan, Kevin Tway

12:25 p.m. – Carl Yuan, Taiga Semikawa

12:36 p.m. – Brian Stuard, John Huh

12:47 p.m. – Kevin Chappell, Ben An

12:58 p.m. – J.T. Poston, Brian Harman

1:09 p.m. – Carson Young, Caleb Surratt

1:20 p.m. – Greyson Sigg, Danny Willett

1:31 p.m. – Sungjae Im, Jason Day

1:42 p.m. – Ben Griffin, Tyson Alexander

PGA West – Dye, Tee No. 10

11:30 a.m. – Kramer Hickok, Aaron Baddeley

11:41 a.m. – Lucas Glover, Keith Mitchell

11:52 a.m. – Nico Echavarria, Zecheng Dou

12:03 p.m. – Sam Ryder, Matthias Schwab

12:14 p.m. – Cam Davis, C. Bezudenhuit

12:25 p.m. – Tano Goya, Augusto Nunez

12:36 p.m. – Danny Lee, David Lingmerth

12:47 p.m. – Rory Sabbatini, Ryan Moore

12:58 p.m. – K.H. Lee, Erik van Rooyen

1:09 p.m. – Harry Hall, Dylan Wu

1:20 p.m. – Stephan Jaeger, David Lipsky

1:31 p.m. – Robert Streb, Garrick Higgo

1:42 p.m. – Michael Gligic, Erik Barnes

La Quinta C.C., Tee No. 10

11:30 a.m. – Adam Schenk, Bill Haas

11:41 a.m. – Adam Hadwin, Taylor Pendrith

11:52 a.m. – MJ Daffue, Andrew Novak

12:03 p.m. – Dylan Frittelli, Sung Kang

12:14 p.m. – Joel Dahman, Andrew Landry

12:25 p.m. – Kyle Westmoreland, Trevor Cone

12:36 p.m. – Ryan Armour, Justin Lower

12:47 p.m. – Scott Piercy, Taylor Moore

12:58 p.m. – Justin Rose, Si Woo Kim

1:09 p.m. – Brandon Matthews, Brent Grant

1:20 p.m. – Doug Gihm, Max McGreevy

1:31 p.m. – Nick Taylor, Martin Laird

1:42 p.m. – Scott Harrington, Sam Stevens


More than $100 in value for just $20!

Join now
Kevin Cunningham

Kevin Cunningham Editor

As managing producer for, Cunningham edits, writes and publishes stories on, and manages the brand’s e-newsletters, which reach more than 1.4 million subscribers each month. A former two-time intern, he also helps keep humming outside the news-breaking stories and service content provided by our reporters and writers, and works with the tech team in the development of new products and innovative ways to deliver an engaging site to our audience.